Senate To Confirm Service Chiefs, Forms Special Committees

By Sunday Isuwa, Abuja

The Nigeria’s Senate is preparing to confirm new service chiefs and establish special committees.

The Senate President is gearing up to conduct screenings for the appointment of service chiefs in response to President Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s letter requesting their confirmation. This move comes as part of efforts to enhance the nation’s security architecture.

Formation Of Special Committees

In a bid to ensure the smooth functioning of the red chamber, Godswill Akpabio, on Tuesday, revealed the composition of eight Special Committees. Each committee will play a crucial role in the Senate’s operations and decision-making processes.

Selection Committee

One of the prominent committees established is the Selection Committee. It will be chaired by the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, with the Deputy Senate President, Jubrin Barau, serving as the Vice Chairman.

This committee will oversee the selection and appointment of individuals to key positions within the Senate.

Committee On Rules And Business

Senator Titus Zam will lead the Committee on Rules and Business, while Senator Opeyemi Bamidele has been designated as the Vice Chairman.

This committee will be responsible for formulating and managing the rules and procedures that govern the Senate’s operations.

Committee On Senate Service

Senator Sunday Steve Karimi will serve as the Chairman of the Committee on Senate Service, and Senator William Jonah will assume the position of Vice Chairman.

This committee will focus on providing administrative support and ensuring the efficient functioning of the Senate.

Committee On Public Account

The Committee on Public Account will be led by Senator Aliu Wadada from Nasarawa state, with Onyeka Peter as the Vice Chairman.

Its primary role is to oversee the auditing of public funds and ensure accountability in government spending.

Committee On National Security And Intelligence

Senator Sheu Buba Umar will chair the Committee on National Security and Intelligence, which plays a critical role in assessing and addressing the nation’s security challenges.

The committee will collaborate with intelligence agencies to devise strategies that enhance national security.

Committee On Media

Senator Yemi Adaramodu will assume the role of Chairman of the Media Committee, responsible for managing the Senate’s media affairs and maintaining effective communication with the public. Senator Salisu Shuaibu Afolabi will serve as the Vice Chairman.

Committee on Ethics, Privileges & Public Petition

To ensure ethical standards and address grievances, Okey Ezea has been appointed as the Chairman of the Ethics, Privileges & Public Petition Committee. Ibrahim Khalid will serve as the Vice Chairman.

Legislative Compliance Committee

Buba Umar will also chair the Legislative Compliance Committee, with Asuquo Ekpeyong as the Vice Chairman.

This committee will ensure that legislative processes and decisions are implemented effectively across various sectors.

Confirmation Hearings For Service Chiefs

In the meantime, the Senate is preparing to commence confirmation hearings for the recently appointed Service Chiefs.

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, in a letter read on the Senate floor yesterday, emphasized the urgency of reviewing the country’s security architecture in response to the worsening security situation.

Last month, President Tinubu named the new Service Chiefs as follows: Maj Gen C G Musa, Chief of Defence Staff; Maj Gen T A Lagbaja, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral E A Ogalla, Chief of Naval Staff; and AVM H B Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.