Senate Spokesman Kicks Over Lopesided Nomination Of NHRC Governing Council

By Musa Sunusi Ahmad

The Senate Spokesman, Senator Basiru Ajibola, has protested against what he described as lopesided nomination of chairman and members of the Governing Council of the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC).

Senator Ajibola expressed the dissatisfaction with nomination of President Muhammadu Buhari during the screening excersice of the nominees who appeared before the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters chaired by Senator Opeyemi Bamidele.

Speaking at the excersice, the Senate Spokesman said he is not in Senate as an individual but as the representative of his people lamenting that while some states get two slots in the board, some state had no does single member.

Ajibola, however, said the issue would be addressed at the Committee meeting before the submission of the report to Senate next week.

During screening exercise the Committee acknowledged the outstanding performances of each nominees over the years in deepening human rights related issues and the ability to answer questions put before them.

Senators who grilled the nominees are: Michael Opeyemi Bamidele; Ike Ikweremadu; James Manager; Chukwuka Utazi; Bashir Ajibola; Seriake Dickson as well as Gabriel Suswan.

It could be recalled that on the 24th of March during Plenary deliberated on President Mohammadu Buhari’s request for the confirmation of nominations of Chairman and members designate of the National Human Rights Commission.

The appointments were made pursuant to section 3 (2) and (3) of the National Human Rights Commission (Amendment) Act 2010, with particular reference to submission (3) paragraph (a) and (b).

After deliberations of the requests, the senate referred it to it’s Committee for further legislative action and mandated it to screen the nominees and report back with recommendations.

The screened Nominees are; Salamatu Suleiman (Chairman); Beatrice Jedy-Agba (Member); AMB. Umar Zainab (Member); Dafe Adesida(Member); Joseph Mmamel (Member); Ahmad Fingillia (Member); Kemi Okeyanda (Member); Abubakar Mohammed (member); Femi Okeowo(member); Sunny Daniel(member) Barr. Agabaidu Jideani(member); Nella Rabbana (SAN)(member); Azubikwe Nwakwenta (member); Jamila Isah(member); Idayat Hassan (member); and Anthony Ojukwu Executive Secretary of the National Human Rights Commission).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *