PFAN Set To Tackle Debtor Clubs …Sets Up Welfare Committee

By Akeem Busari

The Professional Footballers Association of Nigeria (PFAN) have set motions in readiness for its battle against debtor Nigerian football clubs.

Following unending complaints of non-payments of salaries and allowances by players and coaches to the players’union, the Tijani Babangida led body have quickly taken up arms to ensure the several debtor clubs in Nigerian football, fulfill their financial obligations.

Towards achieving that, it has set-up a 7-man welfare committee led by ex- Abiola Babes captain, Tajudeen Disu. Others include Ann Chiejine, Victor Ezeji, Jumbo Awala, Alhaji Muktar Zico, Nasir Jibril and Princewill Oviesan Gbogbodu.

According to a statement by Disu, the welfare committee have since commenced sittings in view to finding a solution to alleviate the sufferings of Nigerian footballers and players turned coaches who are owed huge sums of money running into millions, spanning between 2015-2020.

” We have received series of complainants sent in by players and coaches detailing what they are owed by their clubs. It’s astonishing to note that a whopping N54.5 million is owed a section of players and coaches who have submitted certified documents to support their claims as requested by the welfare committee of PFAN as at 20 of Feb 2021,” Disu explained.

” Painfully, these debtor clubs have continued to do football business without a recourse to their indebtedness to these players and coaches. I will tell emphatically, that this committee established by the leadership of PFAN is battle ready to ensure the welfare and well-being of Nigerian footballers, past and present, are protected and promoted in line with the mission of PFAN, ” he stated emphatically.

READ ALSO  The Chairman Of Chairmen, Nigeria Professional League Urged The New Village Head To Apply His Wealth Of Experience To Revive The Economic Growth Of His District

Tajudeen Disu fondly called ‘Gaddafi’ in his playing days, went on to release the list of complainants and the debtor clubs as follows;

Abubakar Baleria (Kano Pillars), Oke ogagotewo, ( Sunshine Stars), Gbadebo sheyi (Sunshine Queens), Freedom omoforma, Ichul Lordson, Lucky Emariojake (Warri Wolves), Coach lucky Akpokona, Coach Peter Nieketien, Prince Sunday
Emeh, Gidado Toyeen Olakunle ( Stationery Stores),

Others include, Edafe Omamuzo (Delta Queens), Chinedu Samuel ( Heartland FC), Mahmud Mutari ( Taraba FC) and 9 players from Abia Comets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.