Olumide Akpata Emerges New NBA President

By Musa Sunusi Ahmad

The Electoral Committee of the Nigerian Bar Association (ECNBA) has declared Olumide Akpata, as the winner of the presidential election of the association.

Chairman of the Electoral Committee of the NBA, Tawo Tawo (SAN), made the declaration around 12:52 am Friday morning.

He noted that Akpata scored the highest number of votes and satisfied the provisions of the NBA constitution.

“I, Tawo Tawo, the Chairman, Electoral Committee of the Nigerian Bar Association (ECNBA), as the electoral officer for the 2020 National Officers’ Election, hereby declare Akpata Olumide Anthony, having scored the highest number of votes cast and satisfied the provisions of the constitution of the NBA 2015 (as amended), the winner of the election into the office of the President of the Nigerian Bar Association,” Tawo said.

In the electronic poll, which began at 11 pm on Wednesday and ended by 11 pm on Thursday, he polled 9, 891 votes to defeat his opponents; Dr Babatunde Ajibade (4, 328), and Oladele Adesina (3, 982), who are both senior advocates.

Out the total 29,636 accredited voters, 18,256 cast their votes, representing 61%.

The landslide victory makes Akpata the 30th President of the association.

Out of six candidates, John O Aikpokpo-Martins emerged as the first Vice President with 6,010 votes, and Adeyemo Kazeem Debo emerged second Vice President with 8,794 votes defeating his only contender.

Other elected officers include Oduah Joyce, General Secretary; Nwadialo Esther Uchenna, Assistant Secretary; Mercy Ijato Agada, Treasurer; and Edun Olukunle, Welfare Secretary.

In addition, Anagor Raphael Nnamdi is the new Financial Secretary; Nduka Rapuluchukwu Ernest (PhD) is Publicity Secretary; while Naza Ferdinand Afam is Assistant Publicity Secretary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *