Nasarawa Assembly Confirms Professor, 13 others As Commissioners

Nasarawa State House of Assembly (NSHA), has screened and confirmed all 14 commissioner-nominees sent to it by the state Governor, Engr. Abdullahi Sule.

Among them was a Professor and a 28 year old lady and a lawyer by profession, the first of its kind in the state.

Speaker of the Asseembly, Rt. Hon Ibrahim Balarabe-Abdullahi, announced the confirmation after their screening during the House proceedings today in Lafia.

The speaker urged the commissioner nominees to live above board while discharging their duties, when inaugurated by Gov. Sule.

“Those confirmed are Hon Yakubu Kwanta -Akwanga, Hon Yusuf Aliyu Turaki- Awe, Hajiya Aishatu Rufai Ibrahim- Awe, Hon. Salihu Enah- Doma, Prof. Umar Mika’il Gurku- Karu,
Nuhu Ibrahim Oshafu-Keana.

“Engr. Idris Mohammed Idris- Keffi, Mohammed Tanimu Sarki – Lafia, Abimiku Hannatu Bala- Lafia, Hajiya Fatu Jemita Sabo- Nasarawa, Yakubu Mohammed Lawal- Nassarawa Eggon, Daniel Agyeno – Obi, Pharm. Ahmed Baba Yahaya- Toto and Amb. Lucky Isaac Yargwa- Wamba,” he said.

The speaker directed the Clerk of the House to communicate the House resolution to Gov. Sule for his further necessary action.

Earlier, Hon Tanko Tunga (APC- Awe North), the Majority Leader of the House moved a motion for the confirmation of the commissioner nominees.

Hon Abel Bala ( PDP- Nasarawa Eggon West) , the Minority Leader of the House seconded the motion.

Recalled that on Dec.9, 2021 Gov.Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State submitted a list of 15 commissioner nominees to the House of Assembly for screening and confirmation as members of the State Executive Council.

READ ALSO  NDLEA Declares DCP Abba Kyari Wanted

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.