DPR Scrapped As Senate Confirms Upstream Regulatory Commission Board Members

The Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR) is has now been scrapped with the confirmation of the board members of the newly created Nigerian Upstream Regulatory Commission, Senate President Ahmad Lawan said yesterday.

Speaking after the confirmation exercise, Lawan said with the Petroleum Industry Act (PIA) and the confirmation of the nominees sent to them by President Muhammadu Buhari, said the new commission will take over the functions of the defunct DPR.

Lawan, said the establishment of the Nigerian Upstream Regulatory Commission would provide a foundation for the stabilization of the petroleum industry in Nigeria.


He said, “The Regulatory Commission has the enormous and huge responsibility of setting and establishing the Commission as provided in the Petroleum Industry Act.


“They have the unenviable responsibility of ensuring that they commit themselves and work hard to provide the solid and stable foundation for that matter, that they don’t waste any time because time is of essence.


“The Petroleum Industry will go through a reform process and the process has already started.


“This Commission is one of the huge arms of those reforms that will stabilize the petroleum industry in Nigeria.


“While the Senate confirms them, we expect nothing less than commitment and patriotism on their side.


He said it is expected that the other regulatory authority for downstream and midstream will also be confirmed as soon as possible, so they also start their work immediately.”



The nominees confirmed include Isa Ibrahim Modibbo – Chairman; Engr. Gbenga Komolafe – Chief Executive; Hassan Gambo – Executive Commissioner, Finance and Accounts; and Ms Rose Ndong – Executive Commissioner, Exploration and Acreage Management.


Chairman of the Committee on Petroleum Resources (Upstream), Senator Albert Bassey Akpan, in his presentation, said that the nominees demonstrated sufficient knowledge of the workings of the petroleum industry, especially the upstream petroleum sector, as well as the economics of petroleum exploration and production.


He added that the appointments of the nominees satisfy the requirements of Sections 11 and 18 (1-5) of the Petroleum Industry Act, 2021.


According to the lawmaker, “there are no adverse reports against the nominees as record checks and other forms of investigations by security agencies did not reveal any negative trace against them.”


Akpan stated that the Committee was satisfied about the qualifications, experience, suitability, competence and integrity of the nominees to assume the position of Chairman, Chief Executive and Executive Commissioners of the Nigerian Upstream Regulatory Commission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *