5 Nigerian Politicians That Desperately Showed Interest In Becoming President


Here is the list of Nigerian politicians that have shown interest and displayed their capabilities in becoming a constitutionally elected president of Nigeria, however some Nigerian politicians on my list had become presidents while others are still on their race.

Moreso, we need to know that as Nigeria is growing, the seat of power becomes tougher and a thing of the survivor of the fittest. Nigeria, one of the largest economic countries in Africa is operating under a modern democracy system imitating other developed foreign country’s standard of governance.
Here is my list of 5 Nigerian politicians showing their attributes each, who had showed interest in becoming the president of Nigeria, the list is going to be in descending order


Omoyele Sowore (born 16 February 1971 age 48) is a Nigerian human rights activist, pro-democracy campaigner, former presidential candidate, and founder of an online news agency Sahara Reporters, on August 3, 2019. Sowore was arrested by the Nigerian State Security Service (SSS) for alleged treason after calling for a protest tagged RevolutionNow.

On February 25, 2018, Sowore announced his intention to run for president in the 2019 Nigerian general election.

In August 2018, he founded a political party, the African Action Congress (AAC), for which he would run for in 2019.

On October 6, 2018, following successful primary elections at the AAC’s national convention, Omoyele Sowore emerged unchallenged as the Presidential Candidate for the party.

After touring many states in Nigeria, visiting dignitaries such as the Emir of Kano and Wole Soyinka, Sowore embarked on a fundraising tour around the world including Australia, the United States of America and the UK. He was in Luton (London) on the 10th of November, 2018 Sowore flouted debate rules of engagement through naming and shaming corrupt members of the opposition party.


Dr. Olubokola Saraki GCON was born on the (19th of December 1962, age 57) in the united kingdom.

He is a politician, a medical doctor, he was a former president of the Senate, former governor of Kwara state under the political party of People’s Democratic Party (PDP) from 2003 to 2011, he was a senator representing Kwara Central under the political party People’s Democratic Party (PDP) from 2011 to 2015, he was the Senate president under the political party of All Progressive Congress (APC) from 2015 to 2019. On 31st July, 2018, Saraki declared his intention to run for the Office of President of Nigeria under the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) but lost to Atiku Abubakar, he was subsequently announced as the DG of Atiku’s Presidential Campaign Council.


Atiku Abubakar GCON (born 25 November 1946) is a Nigerian politician, businessman, philanthropist and presidential candidate of the People’s Democratic Party at the 2019 Nigerian general election.

He served as the 11th vice-president of Nigeria from 1999 to 2007 under the presidency of Olusegun Obasanjo.

Abubakar declared his candidacy for the presidential nomination of the PDP mid-2018 and won the nomination at its convention on 7 October.

He defeated 11 other contestants and got 1,532 votes, 839 more than the runner-up, the Governor of Sokoto State Aminu Tambuwal.

Atiku Abubakar continued his campaign rally in Kogi State as he promised to complete abandoned projects in the state. On 30 January, he participated in the town hall meeting tagged #NGTheCandidate.

And in the meeting, he declared that he would grant amnesty to looters and he vowed to privatize 90% of NNPC, Nigeria’s primary source of income.

Atiku took his campaigns to Katsina, visit Emir of Daura on 7 February 2019
On February 27, 2019, Atiku lost the presidential race to President Buhari.

He is willing to contest the election in court describing the election as “worst in Nigeria’s democratic history.”


Muhammadu Buhari GCFR (born 17 December 1942) is a Nigerian politician currently serving as the President of Nigeria, in office since 2015.

He is a retired major general in the Nigerian Army and previously served as the nation’s head of state from 31 December 1983 to 27 August 1985, after taking power in a military coup d’état. The term Buharism is ascribed to the Buhari military government.

He unsuccessfully ran for the office of president of Nigeria in 2003, 2007, and 2011 general elections. In December 2014, he emerged as the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress for the March 2015 general elections. Buhari won the election, defeating the incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan. This marked the first time in the history of Nigeria that an incumbent president lost to an opposition candidate in a general election.

He was sworn in on 29 May 2015. In February 2019, Buhari was re-elected President, defeating his closest rival Atiku Abubakar by over 3 million votes.
Buhari has stated that he takes responsibility for anything over which he presided during his military rule and that he cannot change the past. He has described himself as a “converted democrat”.


Chief Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola, GCFR (24 August 1937–7 July 1998) was a Nigerian Yoruba businessman, publisher, politician and aristocrat of the Egba clan. He was the Aare Ona Kankafo XIV of Yoruba land.

MKO Abiola ran for the presidency in 1993, for which the election results were annulled by the preceding military president Ibrahim Babangida because of allegations that they were corrupt and unfair. Abiola was awarded the GCFR posthumously on 6 June 2018 by President Muhammadu Buhari and Nigeria’s democracy day was changed to June 12.

Abiola was a personal friend of Babangida and he is believed to have supported Babangida’s coming to power.

Abiola’s support in the June 1993 presidential election cut across geo-political zones and religious divisions, among a few politicians to accomplish such a spread during his time.

By the time of his death, he had become an unexpected symbol of democracy.


214 thoughts on “5 Nigerian Politicians That Desperately Showed Interest In Becoming President

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.